What exactly is 100 percent for Steven Stamkos? (Lightning Links)

Did you hear Steven Stamkos tell a cute little fib? I’m not talking about his highly active jeans pocket that pokes that favorite button on Twitter. I’m talking about the healing of his broken leg.

When Stamkos spoke to the local media last week, he relented that yeah, that leg isn’t quite there yet but it’s feeling better.

“Sometimes you have to look back and remember it’s hasn’t even been year yet,” Stamkos told Tampa reporters. “Usually, they say stuff like that takes a full year to where it feels as close to normal. I mean, who knows? Maybe it’ll never feels quite exactly the same. It’s way better off than where it was when I ended the year. I’m pretty positive it’s just going to continue to get better as I work on it and as the season progresses. It’s going to be the best it’s felt heading into this season for sure.”

Let’s go back to last year on Stamkos talking about his rumored target date of Feb. 6, trying to come back for the Olympics. This snippet was from his scrum in December, via the Tampa Bay Times:

“I won’t be playing in the Olympics if I’m not 100 percent. That’s something I’ve said since Day 1. At the end of the day you have to look at the long-term health and look at the team here in Tampa that I want to help win a championship with, and if I’m not 100 percent I won’t be playing. I wouldn’t expect them to even take me if I wasn’t 100 percent, especially at a caliber tournament like that.”

An athlete’s heart is bigger than is mouth, if you can believe it. It’s admirable guys want to do all they can to help a team win, but when do you hold him back?

We don’t know if Stammer tweaked anything during his return, it doesn’t seem to be that way. Given that Tampa was swept out of the playoffs, would you have held Stamkos out the rest of the season? Clearly it wouldn’t have made a difference. Pain-free skating and being strong enough was all he needed to return. The full range of motion wasn’t there and as Stamkos said, might not ever be there again. That you can work with.

Stamkos zips along at a nice pace on skates and seeing him play after he came back wasn’t exactly a Robitaille pace.

If anything, let’s have reporters and teams stop using “100 percent” when it comes to health and returning from injuries. Even the Lighting’s own video showing Stamkos facing the media last week says “Getting Back to 100 Percent.” He’s not there yet.

Stamkos might as well say about his leg: “90 percent of the time, it’s 100 percent all the time.”

It’s just not needed and is often unclear what 100 percent is. Most people thought 100 percent would be pre-injury state, like nothing happened. Here, it was more about being 100 percent pain-free and structurally safe. If the definition given by the player and management doesn’t mean 100 percent, let’s throw that out. It’s a mix between a cliché and being misleading.

You know what though? This is training camp for bloggers, too. I needed some sort of morsel to get me worked up.

I feel it, man, I FEEL it.  It’s 30 days until the puck drops for the regular season. I’m happy enough to go to watch training camp and preseason games.

Now that the season is approaching, here is what you should expect from this blog:

  • You won’t see much in the way of game-day previews, post-game analysis and all. I’m quite busy with my day job, and I’ve made a lifestyle change to cut my cable bill down by going to limited basic while maintaining WiFi. If I’m watching the Lightning, it will either be at the gym, at the arena, in a bar or the next day on GameCenterLive. Most of the time, if I’m holding myself to getting the weight down, will be at the gym.
  • I’ll also continue to provide a round-up of links to Lightning-related news as a one-stop service center for fans. Judging by what’s been posted just over the weekend, hockey is here, folks.

LIGHTNING LINKS AND BYGONE BOLTS

TWITTER ROLL CALL 

New Bolts are chatty Cathy’s on the Twitter. Here’s who’s talking

Leave a Reply

