Lightning Links: Phil Esposito is Frank Reynolds

I’m a big fan of both Phil Esposito and Danny DeVito’s character Frank Reynolds on “It’s Always Sunny on Philadelphia.”

I realized last summer after binging on the series on Netflix that Espo and Frank are one and the same.

They lack a filter, they are a hyperbole of themselves and just really don’t give a shit anymore. And vocally, they sound the same. The speech pattern is eerily similar.

Michael Kruse shared some tidbits from Florida Trend’s new “Florida Icon” feature on Espo that pretty much confirms all of this:

5. I’m one of these guys when I put my mind to something, I’m going to get it done. I’m going to keep on going until I’ve exhausted every avenue and then I’ll cheat and lie a little to get it done. I guess I get that from my grandfather on my mother’s side. When I was growing up, this son of a bitch would put dollar bills on a clothesline and he’d pull it up and my brother and I would try to reach up and grab the money and he’d pull it up a little higher. But I kept trying, boy.

Lie and cheat to get the job done? Classic Frank. Classic Espo.

I mean, Espo did have to embellish a little to convince Japanese investors to buy a hockey team in Florida because of course all of those things go together:

“The more we drank, the more it made sense. I said “hockey.” They thought I said “sake.”

It’s too bad the full feature isn’t up online yet. It’s in the new issue, which is available at Barnes & Noble, and it looks like I’ll be purchasing my first copy of the magazine. The site will eventually put the whole feature online, but paid access is required for the entirety of the article.

In the same interview he says hockey was orgasmic.

And other less climatic Lightning links:

Success! Ben Bishop’s right wrist was repaired on the Cleveland Clinic and now had 3-4 months of rehab...and then has to work on that left elbow. This seems so less exciting than a betting line on Stamkos’ return from a broken leg.  Tampa Bay Lightning

Jonathan Drouin’s season, and likely junior career, is over after the Halifax Mooseheads lost Game 7. Welcome to Tampa! Geordon Omand | Metro

Vincent Lecavalier will face off against Brad Richards and Martin St. Louis in a Game 7 on Wednesday night. Weird. Richards and Benoit Pouliot each had a helper in the Rangers loss while Vinny was a -1 and Adam Hall had a fight. NHL.com

The Lightning has a bright future, according to one of The Hockey Writers. William GIlbert | The Hockey Writers

Tampa’s J.T. Brown is one of the many great black NHL players making a name for himself that LA Times columnist Sandy Banks woefully ignored. William Douglas | Color of Hockey

Never good when you visit a team’s website and it says Thank You Fans. Playoffs over for Orlando Solar Bears, losing series 4-2. OrlandoSolarBearsHockey.com

And finally, 15-year-old Dillon Simmons, a former Junior Florida Everblades and Florida Eels defenseman, lost his battle against brain cancer on Friday. Damn shame. June Fletcher | Naples Daily News

One thought on “Lightning Links: Phil Esposito is Frank Reynolds

  1. Pingback: Lightning Links: The Torts-ture of getting fired | hockeynutsandbolts

Leave a Reply

